Friday, September 13, 2013


The spine and the human energy field contain chakras, or energy centers, that vibrate at different frequencies. Each chakra presents us with the opportunity to establish a root relationship and to satisfy a deep soul desire. Each frequency holds the gift of a certain power, which enhances our human experience on Planet Earth. As we tune into this power, we are internally empowered to deal with the specific life challenges of that energy center or chakra and as a consequence to live more whole, meaningful and fulfilling lives.

Yoga Breathing (Pranayama) - The Seven Chakras
Breathing is life. It is one of our most vital functions. One of the Five Principles of Yoga is Pranayama or Breathing Exercise which promotes proper breathing. Proper Breathing, in a Yogic point of view, is to bring more oxygen to the blood and to the brain, and to control prana or the vital life energy. Pranayama - the science of breath control, consist a series of exercises intended to meet these needs and to keep the body in vibrant health.

The Chakras are the seven main energy centers in the body. They are located along the Spine, starting at the base and running upwards to the crown of the head. The Chakras are described as "whirling disks of light", and each Chakra radiates a specific color and energy. As each Chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological and physical issues, the conscious awareness and the balancing of these energy centers lead to well-being.

Chakra 1: Muladhara Chakra
The first Chakra, Muladhara (root), is located at the base of the spine. Its color is red and its issues are survival, stability, and self-sufficiency.

Chakra 2: Svadhisthana Chakra
The second Chakra, Svadhisthana (sweetness), is located at the lower abdomen (between belly button and pelvic bone). Its color is orange and its issues are sexuality, creativity, relationships and emotions.

Chakra 3: Manipura Chakra
The third Chakra, Manipura (lustrous gem), is located at the solar plexus (between belly button and bottom of rib cage). Its color is yellow and its issues are personal power, self esteem, willfulness and energy.

Chakra 4: Anahata Chakra
The fourth Chakra, Anahata (not struck), is located at the heart (center of the chest). Its color is green and its issues are love, compassion, acceptance, and trust.

Chakra 5: Vishuddha Chakra
The fifth Chakra, Vissudha (purification), is located at the throat. Its color is bright blue and its issues are communication, inspiration, expression, and faith.

Chakra 6: Ajna Chakra
The sixth Chakra, Ajna (to perceive), is located between the eyebrows, just above the bridge of the nose. Its color is indigo blue and its issues are psychic, emotional and mental intelligence, and intuition.

Chakra 7: Sahasrara Chakra
The seventh Chakra, Sahasrara (thousand petaled), is located at the crown (top) of the head. Its color is white or violet and its issues are devotion, inspiration, selflessness, and spiritual understanding.

Taking the Kundalini energy up from the Muladhara Chakra to the Sahasrara Chakra is the main goal of Kundalini Yoga. They use different Yoga Techniques in order to awaken the Kundalini (serpent energy) which is resting in the Muladhara Chakra and make it flow from the base of the spine to the top of the head. Once Kundalini reaches its final destination, the Sahasrara Chakra, you will be in the knowledge space or Chidakasa.

No comments:

Post a Comment